Educational Technology Definition

One day I was reading a book about networking. In the book, they gave an example of a student who wanted to study instructional design. Hm.. What is instructional design? I thought it sounded pretty cool, so I just googled it. What I found practically changed my life because from that point on, I wanted to be involved in this field. At that time, I was studying computer information systems science. I really liked computers, but I was never the real “geek” who could do just anything with a computer. After founding the instructional design field, I digged deeper and deeper and came across with educational technology. I was so excited – that was exactly what I always wanted to do, but I had no idea that there is a field of educational technology. So, today if somebody asks me what I study, I answer: “I learn how to introduce technology toys to the students, they get to play with and learn by using them at the same time” (borrowed from my classmates Melissa and Sheila).

The 504 course is the first theory course I have ever took. Moreover, I am not originally from the United States. I grew up in Europe, and the learning and teaching styles are totally different over there. We were mostly told to learn by driling the materials until we remembered them. Well, at least until the next test. As soon as the test was over, the knowledge “dissapeared”. At least that is how I felt. So I am really interested in learning how different it is here, in the United States, the different theories behind teaching and learning, and hopefully I will find new ways to learn myself. I also hope that I will use that knowledge in my future as an instructional designer, or adult learners instructor.

Leave a comment